FPTR Welcomes New Trustee to Board

The Foundation for Physical Therapy Research (FPTR) Board of Trustees has appointed Christopher Powers, PT, PhD, FASCM, FAPTA, to complete an open position. Powers will begin his term immediately.  In addition, four trustees were reappointed to serve another three-year term –  Paul A. Rockar, Jr. PT, DPT, MS, FAPTA, Rebecca Craik, PT, PhD, FAPTA, Joe Farrell, PT, DPT, M App SC, FAAOMPT, FAPTA, and Terence C. Brown, PT, DPT.

Powers is one of more than 600 physical therapist researchers who began their work with early career funding from FPTR. Powers received a doctoral training research grant in 1993 and was also the recipient of the Marquette Challenge Research Grant in 2001. He is Professor and Associate Chair in the Division of Biokinesiology and Physical Therapy and co-director of the Musculoskeletal Biomechanics Lab at the University of Southern California. Powers’ leadership includes past roles as the President of the California Physical Therapy Association. President of the APTA Academy of Research, and Editor of the Journal of Orthopaedic and Sports Physical Therapy. Powers has previously served on the FPTR Scientific Review Committee.

“On behalf of the Trustees, I am pleased to welcome Chris to our team,” said FPTR President Paul Rockar. “His leadership and research experience will be an asset to our organization, and we look forward to working with him.”

The Foundation for Physical Therapy was established in 1979 as a national, independent nonprofit organization to fund physical therapy research. FPTR is a 501(c) (3) charitable organization governed by a Board of Trustees with limited oversight by the American Physical Therapy Association (APTA) Board of Directors.


Subscribe to our mailing list

* indicates required




Use this form to sign up for the Foundation for Physical Therapy Research monthly newsletter.