The American for Physical Therapy Association (APTA) just announced the recipients of this year’s Honors and Awards Program. Awards are presented to APTA members for outstanding achievement in the areas of overall accomplishment, education, practice and service, publications, research, and academic excellence. Out of the 80 recipients, 21 are past and current FPTR funding recipients. Several awardees are also longstanding donors of FPTR.

Congratulations to the recipients of the Catherine Worthingham Fellow Award! The Catherine Worthingham Fellow designation honors individuals whose contributions to the profession through leadership, influence, and achievements demonstrate frequent and sustained efforts to advance the physical therapy profession. For his unwavering support of the association and the physical therapy profession, FPTR President Paul Rockar Jr., PT, DPT, MS, FAPTA, is among those receiving the association’s highest honor. Rockar is also the recipient of two other awards: the Lucy Blair Service Award and the Marilyn Moffat Leadership Award.

Other FPTR alumni receiving the FAPTA designation include:

  • William Bandy, PT, PhD, FAPTA
    Board-Certified Clinical Specialist in Sports Physical Therapy
    (1990 Doctoral Training Research Grant (DTRG))
  • Leland “Lee” Dibble, PT, PhD, FAPTA
    (2004 Geriatric Research Grant)
  • Stacey Dusing, PT, PhD, FAPTA
    Board-Certified Clinical Specialist in Pediatric Physical Therapy

    (2002 McMillan Doctoral Scholarship, 2005 Promotion of Doctoral Studies (PODS) II Scholarship, and the 2014 Pediatric Section Research Grant)
  • Janet Freburger, PT, PhD, FAPTA
    (2003 Private Practice Section Research Grant)
  • Kenneth Joseph Harwood, PT, PhD, FAPTA
    (1989 DTRG and the 2017 Health Services Research Pipeline Grant)
  • Fay Horak, PT, PhD, FAPTA
    (1989 DTRG)
  • Catherine Lang, PT, PhD, FAPTA
    (1999 PODS I Scholarship and 2000 PODS II Scholarship)
  • Darcy Reisman, PT, PhD, FAPTA
    (1999 McMillan Doctoral Scholarship)
  • Jennifer Stevens-Lapsley, PT, PhD, FAPTA
    (2000 PODS I Scholarship, 2001 PODS II Scholarship, and the 2007 Pittsburgh-Marquette Challenge Grant)

Congratulations to the 2020 Honors and Award Recipients:

  • Timothy Flynn, PT, PhD, FAPTA
    Board-Certified Clinical Specialist in Orthopaedic Physical Therapy
    (1996 DTRG & 2000 Orthopaedic Research Grant)
    26th John H. P. Maley Lecture Award
  • Dorian K. Rose, PT, PhD
    (1999 & 2000 PODS I and 2002 PODS II)
    Lucy Blair Service Award
  • Daniel Kenta White, PT, ScD, MS
    (2011 Geriatric Research Grant)
    Eugene Michels New Investigator Award
  • Christopher M. Powers, PT, PhD, FAPTA
    (1993 DTRG and 2001 Miami-Marquette Challenge Research Grant)
    Marian Williams Award for Research in Physical Therapy
  • Janet Freburger, PT, PhD, Linda Resnik, PT, PhD, FAPTA, and authors for their article “Variation in Hospital-Based Rehabilitation Services Among Patients With Ischemic Stroke in the United States,” published in Physical Therapy, Vol. 99, No. 5.
    (2003 Private Practice Research Grant)
    Chattanooga Research Award
  • Richard Severin, PT, DPT and authors for their article “Outpatient Physical Therapist Attitudes Toward and Behaviors in Cardiovascular Disease Screen: A National Survey,” published in Physical Therapy, Vol. 99, No. 7.
    (2019 PODS II Scholarship)
    Dorothy Briggs Memorial Scientific Inquiry Award
  • Kirsten Ness, PT, PhD, FAPTA
    (2003 PODS I Scholarship)
    Helen J. Hislop Award for Outstanding Contributions to Professional Literature
  • Daniel L. Riddle, PT, PhD, FAPTA
    (1990 DTRG)
    Jules M. Rothstein Golden Pen Award for Scientific Writing

For the complete list, visit APTA.org.


Subscribe to our mailing list

* indicates required




Use this form to sign up for the Foundation for Physical Therapy Research monthly newsletter.