Steve H. Tepper, PT, PhD, FAPTA, Shares His Spirit of Philanthropy

In a typical year, we gather during the APTA NEXT Conference and celebrate special individuals like Steve Tepper together. This year, we will thank each of these FPTR Service Award recipients individually. However, we hope you will join us in congratulating them for their contributions to the physical therapy profession and to research.

Steve Tepper is the 2020 Spirit of Philanthropy Awardee. In 1987, Dr. Tepper received early-career funding from FPTR. Since then he has been selflessly giving back. Tepper has been a longstanding supporter of FPTR, and has truly demonstrated exceptional commitment to the growth of philanthropy and the encouragement and motivation of others to support research. Steve and Linda, we are so grateful and appreciative of everything you do.

The 2020 Service Award recipients are:

  • Edelle Field-Fote, PT, PhD, FAPTA, will receive the 2020 Robert C. Bartlett Trustee Recognition Service Award for her personal service and commitment as a trustee.
  • The Academy of Physical Therapy Education will receive the 2020 Premier Partner in Research Award.
  • Barbara H. Connolly, PT, DPT, EdD, FAPTA, will receive the 2020 Charles M. Magistro Distinguished Service Award – named after FPTR’s first president and chair.
  • Steve H. Tepper, PT, PhD, FAPTA, will receive the 2020 Spirit of Philanthropy Award.


Subscribe to our mailing list

* indicates required




Use this form to sign up for the Foundation for Physical Therapy Research monthly newsletter.