The Foundation for Physical Therapy Research recognized the 2018 grant, scholarship, and fellowship awardees at the recent Foundation Donor Networking Reception held during the American Physical Therapy Association (APTA) CSM conference in Washington, D.C. Among the latest class of Foundation-funded researchers, the following were recognized:

Receiving $5,000 Florence P. Kendall Doctoral Scholarships

  • Allison Miller
  • Jonathan Tsay
  • Julia Mazzarella
  • Julie Stutzbach

Receiving $7,500 Promotion of Doctoral Studies I Scholarships

  • Giovanni Berardi
  • Margaret French
  • Christopher Hoekstra
  • Jason Sharpe
  • Rachel Bican
  • Kara Boynewicz
  • Reed Handlery
  • Rashelle Hoffman
  • Dana Matthews
  • Lauren Sara
  • Bryant Seamon
  • Karen Thatcher
  • Abigail Wilson

Receiving $15,000 Promotion of Doctoral Studies II Scholarships

  • Nayo Hill
  • Jason Falvey
  • Matthew Miller
  • Lindsey Brown
  • Katie Butera
  • Christine Cabelka
  • Jacob Capin
  • Allison Gustavson
  • Kirby Mayer
  • Rebekah Summers

Receiving the $40,000 Pittsburgh-Marquette Challenge Research Grant
Eric Anson

Receiving the $40,000 Geriatric Research Grant
Annalisa Na

Receiving the $50,000 Health Service Research Pipeline Grant
Beth McManus

Receiving the first ever $40,000 Acute Care Research Grant
Michael Tevald

Receiving the $100,000 Magistro Family Foundation Research Grant
Bahar Shahidi

Receiving the first ever $240,000 Paris Patla Musculoskeletal Grant
Marcie Harris-Hayes

Receiving the $40,000 Pediatric Research Grant
Barbara Sargent

Receiving the $40,000 Orthopaedic Research Grant
Jason Beneciuk

The Foundation also recognized the donors who made this funding possible, including APTA, the Foundation’s Pinnacle Partner in Research and the supporter of crucial Foundation funding including the APTA Supporting the Profession Fund.

Foundation Trustee Paul Rockar and his wife, Judy, were acknowledged for their dedication to the Foundation through a $100,000 planned gift to support the Foundation’s Legacy Endowment Fund. Marilyn Gerhard, along with Nancy Byl and her husband Frederick Byl, were also acknowledged as the Foundation’s newest Legacy Society members.

Foundation President Edelle Field-Fote also acknowledged Catherine Patla, PT, DHSc, MS, OCS, MTC, FAAOMPT, who was also recently awarded the Charles M. Magistro Distinguished Service Award at the Foundation’s luncheon held during the 2018 NEXT Conference. Patla has shown unwavering commitment to advancing the profession and has generously expressed that dedication, along with husband Stanley Paris, PT, PhD, FAPTA, HonLLD(Otago), by donating $3 million to establish an endowment for clinical research funding.

Two additional gifts were acknowledged at the reception. The California Physical Therapy Association and the California Physical Therapy Fund  have jointly agreed to contribute to the Foundation’s President’s Sustaining Fund by pledging $50,000 over five years. Additionally, the Academy of Physical Therapy Education pledged $500,000 to support research education.

The presenting sponsor for this event was HPSO/CNA.


Subscribe to our mailing list

* indicates required




Use this form to sign up for the Foundation for Physical Therapy Research monthly newsletter.