Foundation for Physical Therapy Research Alumni Among Those Recognized with Highest Honors and Awards

Every year, the American Physical Therapy Association (APTA) recognizes and celebrates people for their work in advancing the physical therapy profession. This year, several Foundation-funding alumni were among those receiving accolades for their continued commitment to the profession and were recognized during APTA NEXT Conference & Exposition in Chicago.

Congratulations to all Foundation alumni named as 2019 Catherine Worthingham Fellows of the American Physical Therapy Association (FAPTA). The FAPTA designation is the highest honor among APTA’s membership categories and is given to members of APTA who have shown unwavering efforts to advance the physical therapy profession for more than 15 years. The 2019 Fellows include:

  • Jennifer S. Brach, PT, PhD, FAPTA
  • Gammon M. Earhart, PT, PhD, FAPTA
  • Karen Leigh McCulloch, PT, PhD, MS, FAPTA
    Board-Certified Neurologic Clinical Specialist

2019 Honors and Awards

James J. Irrgang, PT, PhD, ATC, FAPTA
Lucy Blair Service Award

Alison L. McKenzie, PT, DPT, PhD, MA
Societal Impact Award

Adam P. Goode, PT, DPT, PhD
Eugene Michels New Investigator Award

Jennifer E. Stevens-Lapsley, PT, PhD
Marian Williams Award for Research in Physical Therapy

Jason M. Beneciuk, PT, DPT, PhD, MPH, Trevor A. Lentz, PT, PhD, MPH, and Steven George, PT, PhD, FAPTA, for their article “Prediction of Persistent Musculoskeletal Pain at 12 Months: A Secondary Analysis of the Optimal Screening for Prediction of Referral and Outcome (OSPRO) Validation Cohort Study,” published in Physical Therapy, Volume 98, No 5.
Chattanooga Research Award

Jason Falvey, PT, DPT, PhD, board-certified geriatric clinical specialist, Allison Gustavson, PT, DPT, and Jennifer E. Stevens-Lapsley, PT, MPT, PhD, for their article “Impaired Physical Performance Predicts Hospitalization Risk for Participants in the Program of All Inclusive Care for the Elderly,” published in Physical Therapy, Volume 98, No 1.
Dorothy Briggs Memorial Scientific Inquiry Award

Linda van Dillen, PT, PhD, FAPTA
Helen J. Hislop Award for Outstanding Contributions to Professional Literature

Meryl J. Alappattu, PT, DPT, PhD
Margaret L. Moore Award for Outstanding New Academic Faculty Member

To learn more about APTA’s Honors and Awards program, visit


Subscribe to our mailing list

* indicates required




Use this form to sign up for the Foundation for Physical Therapy Research monthly newsletter.