Spirit of Philanthropy Award

The Foundation is pleased to award the 2017 Spirit of Philanthropy Award to Patricia A. Traynor, PT.

Since 2005, this award has been presented annually to donors who exhibit enthusiastic support and dedication to the growth of the Foundation and its mission. Traynor’s unwavering dedication to the Foundation dates to the founding of the organization in 1979. One of the earliest champions of the Foundation, her generous personal contributions and support of campaigns span decades.  In 1984 Traynor helped to create the Foundation’s first annual banquet and auction. She served as the chair of the Foundation’s annual fundraising efforts from 1991 to 1997.  Pat was instrumental in the development of the Foundation’s planned giving program, including the development and funding of the Legacy Endowment Fund.  The fund has grown through contributions from Traynor and others to over $600,000 and will continue to support research awards in perpetuity.  She currently serves as a member of the Foundation’s Planned Giving Committee and is a Legacy Society donor, helping to ensure that the Foundation will be able to sustain its important work for generations to come. Traynor served on the Foundation’s Board of Trustees from 2003-2013.

Past Recipients:

2016: Marilyn Moffat, PT, DPT, PhD, DSc (hon), GCS, CSCS, CEEAA, FAPTA

2015: Lansdale and Gladys Clagett (posthumously)

2014: Magistro Family Foundation

2013: Jayne Snyder, PT, DPT, MA, FAPTA (posthumously)

2012: Not awarded

2011: Gary L. Soderburg, PT, PhD, FAPTA and his wife, Loretta Knutson, PT, PhD, PCS

2010: James B. McKillip, PT, FAPTA and Laura K. Smith, PT, PhD, FAPTA (posthumously)

2009: Rep. Jim Langevin (D-RI)

2008: Larry Pan, PT, PhD

2007: Donald F. Lang, and Francis J. Mallon, Esq.

2006: Charles M. Magistro, PT, FAPTA

2005: Senator Robert Dole