Charles M. Magistro Distinguished Service Award

The Foundation is proud to award the 2017 Charles M. Magistro Distinguished Service Award to Nancy E. Byl, PT, MPH, PhD, FAPTA.

This award, named for the first President and Chair of the Foundation, is presented annually to individuals for outstanding service and steadfast commitment toward promoting the Foundation’s goals. Byl and her husband Fred have long been dedicated to the Foundation and have generously contributed to various fundraising initiatives and most recently the Magistro Endowment Fund. Byl also launched a personal matching gift challenge for the Center of Excellence that helped propel evidence-based research. As President of the California Physical Therapy Fund, Byl was an advocate for funding health services research through the Foundation’s Center of Excellence Campaign to which the CAL PT-FUND contributed $50,000.

Past Recipients:

2016: Steven H. Tepper, PT, PhD, FAPTA

2015: Robert C. Bartlett, PT, MA, FAPTA

2014: Alan M. Jette, PT, PhD, FAPTA

2013: Dan Riddle, PT, PhD, FAPTA

2012: Anthony Delitto, PT, PhD, FAPTA

2011: Richard K. Shields, PT, PhD, FAPTA

2010: Susan Deusinger, PT, PhD, FAPTA and Robert Deusinger, PT, PhD

2009: Stanley Paris, PT, PhD, FAPTA

2008: Nancy White, PT, MS, OSC

2007: H. Philip Vierling

2006: Rebecca Craik, PT, PhD, FAPTA

2005: Florence P. Kendall, PT, FAPTA (D)

2004: Jayne L. Snyder, PT, DPT, MA (D)

2003: Mary Ellen Michel, PhD

2002: Duane Fast, VP, The Tri W-G Group

2001: William G. Boissonnault, PT, DPT, DHSc, FAPTA, FAAOMPT

2000: Linda L. Towne, PT, MEd and Peter A. Towne, PT

1999: Marilyn Moffat, PT, DPT, PhD, FAPTA

1998: None

1997: Lawrence G. Pan, PT, PhD and Patricia A. Traynor, PT

1996: Marilyn R. Gossman, PT, PhD, FAPTA (D) and Donald Lang

1995: None

1994: James B. McKillip, PT

1993: Susan Collopy, PT and Fran Kern, PT, PhD

1992: None

1991: John HP Maley (D)

(D) Deceased