The Foundation for Physical Therapy Research (FPTR) will honor leaders in physical therapy innovation with the prestigious 2022 Service Awards. These awards go to people and organizations who show a commitment to advancing the profession through research.

In recent years, FPTR recognized these awardees virtually. This year, we are eager to transition back to in-person recognition during the FPTR Donor Reception at the APTA Combined Sections Meeting (CSM). The reception will be held Wednesday, February 02, 2022, from 5:00-7:00pm at the San Antonio, Texas, at the Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center.

The 2022 Service Award recipients are:

  • Helene Fearon, PT, FAPTA, Sheila Schindler-Ivens, PT, PhD, Randy Roesch, PT, DPT, MBA, FAPTA, and Fran Welk, PT, DPT, MED, will each receive the 2022 Robert C. Bartlett Trustee Recognition Service Award for their personal service and commitment as a trustee upon completion of their final year serving on the FPTR Board.
  • The American Academy of Orthopaedic Manual Physical Therapists (AAOMPT) will receive the 2022 Premier Partner in Research Award.
  • Connie Hauser, PT, DPT, will receive the 2022 Charles M. Magistro Distinguished Service Award – named after FPTR’s first president and chair.
  • Charlene “Billie” Nelson, PT, MA, FAPTA, will posthumously receive the 2022 Spirit of Philanthropy Award.

“The physical therapy profession grows and becomes stronger thanks to the daily work of people and organizations that support evidence-based research and promote the value of PT services,” said FPTR CEO, Barbara Malm, MBA. “We look forward to thanking these award recipients in person for their many meaningful contributions to advancing research.”


Subscribe to our mailing list

* indicates required




Use this form to sign up for the Foundation for Physical Therapy Research monthly newsletter.