ALEXANDRIA, VA (March 20, 2018)

The Foundation for Physical Therapy (Foundation) is pleased to announce its 2018 service award recipients. Every year, the Foundation recognizes individuals and organizations who have demonstrated a strong commitment to supporting the Foundation and advancing physical therapy research.

For their ongoing contributions to the Foundation and support for the profession, this year the Foundation will present awards to:

  • Aimee Klein, PT, DPT, DSc, OCS and Stephen E. Anderson, PT, DPT
  • Marquette University
  • Florida Physical Therapy Association
  • Catherine Patla, PT, DHSc, MS, OCS, MTC, FAAOMPT
  • Irene R. McEwen, PT, DPT, PhD, FAPTA

The awards will be presented during the Foundation’s Orlando PT Party on June 28, 2018 during the American Physical Therapy Association’s (APTA) NEXT Conference in Orlando, FL.

“Year after year, our Service Award recipients continue to set the standard in service and innovation within the physical therapy profession,” said Foundation Board of Trustees President Edelle Field-Fote, PT, PhD, FAPTA. “The awards are a testament to the dedication and vision that this year’s recipients have for the Foundation and the profession overall.”

The 2018 Robert C. Bartlett Trustee Recognition Service Awards will be presented to former Trustees Aimee B. Klein, PT, DPT, DSc, OCS and Stephen E. Anderson, PT, DPT. This award is presented to individuals whose personal service and commitment as a trustee has helped develop and sustain activities that promote the funding of physical therapy research and education programs.

Klein is an associate professor and coordinator of post-professional residency education & simulation in the School of Physical Therapy and Rehabilitation Sciences at the University of South Florida in Tampa and served as a Trustee from 2014-2017. In addition to being a long-standing supporter of the Foundation and various initiatives, Klein served on the Foundation’s Awareness and Nominating Committees.
Anderson is the founder of Orange Dot Coaching – an organization focused on developing the next generation of leaders – and a senior Healthcare Advisor for VGM Advantage. He is the former chief executive officer of Therapeutic Associates, Inc. Anderson served on the Foundation’s Board from 2013-2017. In addition to being a steadfast donor, Anderson served on the Foundation’s Nominating and Corporate Philanthropy Committees.  He continues to serve on the Foundation’s Audit Committee.

The 2018 Innovation in Fundraising Award will be presented to Marquette University for their original concept to create and co-host the Marquette Challenge annually for 30 years. This award is presented to a group or individual for demonstrating leadership, creativity, and initiative to develop, coordinate, and execute an innovative fundraising activity to benefit the Foundation. In 1989, physical therapist students from Marquette University spearheaded this effort to raise funds for physical therapy research through the Foundation. To date, Marquette students have raised over $340,000, placing them in the Philanthropy Circle’s Champion Society. Since the inception of the Challenge, 269 schools have participated, raising over $3.7 million for physical therapy research making it possible to fund over 25 research grants and scholarships and to partially fund the 2010 Clagett Family Research Grant. Funds raised through the Challenge also contribute to the rigorous and high quality peer-review process which results in the awarding of all Foundation scholarships and grants. The Challenge continues to inspire generations of students to give back to their future profession.

The 2018 Premier Partner in Research Award will be presented to the Florida Physical Therapy Association (FPTA). Over the years, the Foundation has presented this award to select organizations who have made generous and long-standing contributions critical to the success of the Foundation and its mission. To date, the FPTA has donated $186,000 in support of physical therapy research. Florida was a lead supporter of the Foundation’s research study on “The Influence of Physical Therapy Referral Characteristics and Practices on Quality, Cost Effectiveness, and Utilization Patterns” and also generously contributed to the Center of Excellence for Health Services Research Campaign. The FPTA is a regular supporter of various annual Foundation events and fundraisers.

The 2018 Charles M. Magistro Distinguished Service Award, will be presented to Catherine Patla, PT, DHSc, MS, OCS, MTC, FAAOMPT. This award, named for the first President and Chair of the Foundation, is presented annually to individuals for outstanding service and steadfast commitment toward promoting the Foundation’s goals. Patla has served as a faculty member of the University of St. Augustine since its founding and is currently serving as an associate professor. She was dean of professional education from 2011–2014 and director of the residency and fellowship programs from 2010–2013, among many other contributions. Patla has worked behind the scenes for a number of years to help increase awareness of the Foundation’s impact. She has actively supported a number of fundraising efforts that her husband, Dr. Stanley Paris, had created, resulting in increased awareness of the Foundation and additional funds for research. Most recently, she drove a support vehicle during the Ride for Research, a bicycle across country fundraising effort. Patla is committed to advancing the profession and has generously expressed that dedication, along with Dr. Paris, by donating $3 million to establish an endowment for clinical research funding.

The 2018 Spirit of Philanthropy Award will be presented to Irene R. McEwen, PT, DPT, PhD, FAPTA. Since 2005, this award has been presented annually to donors who exhibit enthusiastic support and dedication to the growth of the Foundation and its mission. McEwen’s unwavering dedication to the Foundation dates back to when she received a research grant in 1987 while pursuing her PhD in special education. She has since been an avid supporter of the Foundation’s mission to support physical therapy research. She is currently a member of the Foundation’s Legacy Society and most recently made a $250,000 gift to establish the McEwen Family Fund for School-Based Physical Therapy Research.

To learn more about the Foundation’s Service Awards, visit

The Foundation for Physical Therapy was established in 1979 as a national, independent nonprofit organization to fund physical therapy research to optimize health and movement. Since its inception, the Foundation has awarded more than $17 million in research grants, fellowships and scholarships. Many of today’s leading physical therapy researchers, clinicians, and academicians began their careers with this support. Foundation-funded researchers have gone on to secure more than $824 million in follow-on funding.

To donate or learn more, visit or call 800/875-13678.




Subscribe to our mailing list

* indicates required

Use this form to sign up for the Foundation for Physical Therapy Research monthly newsletter and periodic funding deadline alerts.