ALEXANDRIA, VA, (March 8, 2016) – The Foundation for Physical Therapy is pleased to announce its 2016 service award recipients. Every year, the Foundation recognizes individuals and organizations who have demonstrated a strong commitment to supporting the Foundation and advancing physical therapy research.

This year the Foundation will present awards to DJO Global, Steven H. Tepper, PT, PhD, and Marilyn Moffat, PT, DPT, PhD, DSc (hon), GCS, CSCS, CEEAA, FAPTA, for their ongoing contributions to the Foundation. The awards will be presented during the Foundation’s annual gala on June 9, 2016 during APTA’s NEXT Conference in Nashville, TN.

“The vital work of the Foundation would not be possible without the dedication and commitment of each of our service award recipients,” said Foundation Board of Trustees President Barbara Connolly, PT, DPT, EdD, FAPTA. “They play such an important role in allowing us to further our mission to fund physical therapy research and develop the next generation of researchers. They continue to inspire and remind us of the impact our work has on the lives of many and for this we are truly grateful.”

The 2016 Premier Partner in Research Award will be presented to DJO Global. Over the years, the Foundation has presented this award to a select few who have made generous and long-standing contributions critical to the success of the Foundation and its mission. DJO Global joined the Foundation as a Platinum-level Partner in Research in 2011 and has since donated over $95,000 in support of physical therapy research. As a provider of orthopedic devices used for rehabilitation, pain management, and physical therapy, DJO Global has supported the Foundation to further its mission to fund emerging physical therapist researchers.

Steven H. Tepper, PT, PhD, is the 2016 recipient of the Charles M. Magistro Distinguished Service Award. This award, named for the first Chair of the Foundation, is presented annually to individuals for outstanding service and steadfast commitment toward promoting the Foundation’s goals. Dr. Tepper has passionately advocated for and selflessly contributed to the Foundation for over 15 years. He was awarded a grant from the Foundation in 1987, and it was after receiving that early-career funding that he became committed to supporting the Foundation to help make funding opportunities available to other researchers. This is not Dr. Tepper’s first Foundation award; he previously received the first Innovation for Fundraising award in 2005 for his initiative and creativity in fundraising on behalf of the Foundation for traveling the country as a university professor, giving monthly lectures where he encourages students to donate to the Foundation while personally matching their donations. To this day, Dr. Tepper strongly believes the simple concept of pay it forward should encourage donors to continue to support the Foundation.

The 2016 Spirit of Philanthropy Award will be presented to Marilyn Moffat, PT, DPT, PhD, DSc (hon), GCS, CSCS, CEEAA, FAPTA, an inspiration and role model to all in the physical therapy profession. Her impact on the Foundation has been far-reaching. Since 2005, this award has been presented annually to donors who exhibit enthusiastic support and dedication to the growth of the Foundation and its mission. Dr. Moffat’s devotion to the Foundation is demonstrated by her generous personal contributions over the years, the establishment of the Marilyn Moffat Fund for Geriatric Research, and her commitment as a member of the Legacy Society. In addition, Dr. Moffat has previously served two terms as a member of the Foundation’s Board of Trustees (2004-2011). Currently, she serves on the Foundation’s Fundraising Committee and has been essential to the growth of the Foundation through her leadership of the President’s Sustaining Fund (PSF). In addition to her personal commitments, Dr. Moffat has helped the Foundation raise more than $2 million in the 23-year history of the split raffle, spearheaded efforts for the 2007 capital campaign by serving as Leadership Gifts Chair, and assisted the Foundation in raising over $650,000 for the annual PSF since the program began in 2012. This will be Dr. Moffat’s third Foundation award; in 2012 she was the recipient of the Innovation in Fundraising Award as well as the 1999 Charles M. Magistro Distinguished Service Award.

The Foundation for Physical Therapy was established in 1979 as a national, independent nonprofit organization to fund physical therapy research to optimize health and movement. Since its inception, the Foundation has awarded more than $17 million in research grants, fellowships and scholarships. Many of today’s leading physical therapy researchers, clinicians, and academicians began their careers with this support. Foundation-funded researchers have gone on to secure more than $824 million in follow-on funding.

To donate or learn more, visit or call 800/875-13678.




Subscribe to our mailing list

* indicates required

Use this form to sign up for the Foundation for Physical Therapy Research monthly newsletter and periodic funding deadline alerts.