ALEXANDRIA, VA (March 18, 2015) – The Foundation for Physical Therapy is pleased to announce its 2015 service award recipients. Every year the Foundation recognizes individuals and organizations who have demonstrated a strong commitment to supporting the Foundation, and advancing physical therapy research.

“Each of our service award recipients has played a vital role in the Foundation’s ability to carry out its mission to fund and publicize physical therapy research,” said Foundation Board of Trustees President Barbara Connolly, PT, DPT, EdD, FAPTA. ”We recognize that much of the hard work and support of these individuals and organizations occurs behind the scenes, and we are extremely appreciative.”

The Foundation is delighted to present awards to the Neurology Section, APTA; Robert C. Bartlett, PT, MA, FAPTA; and Lansdale and Gladys Clagett (posthumously), for their contributions to the Foundation. The Foundation will also be honoring outgoing Foundation board members William G. Boissonnault, PT, DPT, DHSc, FAPTA, FAAOMPT and Anthony Delitto, PhD, PT, FAPTA for their service.

This year’s Premier Partner in Research Award will be presented to the Neurology Section, APTA. The Foundation has presented this award to a select few who have made generous and long-standing contributions critical to the success of the Foundation and its mission. To date, the Neurology Section has donated more than $500,000  to the Foundation for Physical Therapy, with funds supporting 2 named promotion of doctoral studies (PODS) scholarships in honor of Patricia Leahy, PT MS, NCS (PODS I) and Mary Lou Barnes, PT, FAPTA (PODS II). Since the Foundation’s inception, more than 130 members of the Neurology Section have received more than $3 million in scholarships, fellowships and grant funding from the Foundation.

Robert C. Bartlett, PT, MA, FAPTA, is the 2015 recipient of the Charles M. Magistro Distinguished Service Award. This award, named for the first chair of the Foundation, is presented annually to individuals for outstanding service and steadfast commitment toward promoting the Foundation’s goals. Bartlett has had a long-standing relationship with the Foundation, having served as chair and Board of Trustees member during the Foundation’s early years. He provided structure and guidance to the Foundation helping it to develop a cadre of physical therapist researchers.

The 2015 Spirit of Philanthropy Award will be awarded posthumously to Lansdale and Gladys Clagett. Since 2005, this award has been presented annually to donors who exhibit enthusiastic support and dedication to the growth of the Foundation and its mission. Lansdale Clagett is a former physical therapy patient from Prince George’s County, Maryland. Grateful for the physical therapy he received years after contracting polio, the Clagetts left a bequest to the Foundation of $750,000. The Clagetts’ gift allowed the Foundation to fund a $300,000 Clagett Family Research Grant in 2011. The Clagett Family Research Grant was the Foundation’s first high priority-high impact research grant, examining physical therapy interventions for older adults suffering from multiple chronic conditions.

The 2015 Robert C. Bartlett Trustee Recognition Service Award will be presented to outgoing Foundation trustees William G. Boissonnault, PT, DPT, DHSc, FAPTA, FAAOMPT and Anthony Delitto, PhD, PT, FAPTA. This award is presented to individuals whose personal service and commitment as a trustee has helped develop and sustain activities that promote the funding of physical therapy research and education programs.

William Boissonnault is a professor in the Department of Orthopedics and Rehabilitation at the University of Wisconsin (UW) School of Medicine and Public Health. He is also senior physical therapist at the Spine Center PT Clinic – UW Hospital and Clinics, and the University Health Services for students. Boissonnault has a long-standing relationship with the Foundation and has completed 9 years of service as a trustee, 5 of which he served as president. Additionally, he was instrumental in establishing the Foundation’s largest initiative to date – the Center of Excellence.

Anthony Delitto is professor and associate dean of research in the School of Health and Rehabilitation Sciences at the University of Pittsburgh. Delitto has served as a member of the Foundation’s Scientific Review Committee, the Scientific Advisory Committee, and the Doctoral Research Awards Committee. He was influential in the establishment of the Foundation’s Scientific Advisory Committee, and also served as principal investigator of the Foundation-funded Clinical Research Center at the University of Pittsburgh. Additionally, Delitto has supported the Foundation over the years by successfully leading his students in the Foundation’s annual Marquette Challenge.

The Foundation for Physical Therapy was established in 1979 as a national, independent nonprofit organization to fund physical therapy research to optimize health and movement. Since its inception, the Foundation has awarded more than $17 million in research grants, fellowships and scholarships. Many of today’s leading physical therapy researchers, clinicians, and academicians began their careers with this support. Foundation-funded researchers have gone on to secure more than $824 million in follow-on funding.

To donate or learn more, visit or call 800/875-13678.




Subscribe to our mailing list

* indicates required

Use this form to sign up for the Foundation for Physical Therapy Research monthly newsletter and periodic funding deadline alerts.