ALEXANDRIA, VA. (June 18, 2015) – The Foundation for Physical Therapy announced the winners of the 2014-2015 Miami-Marquette Challenge at its annual gala on June 4 in National Harbor, Maryland. Physical therapist and physical therapist assistant students from a record-setting 146 schools across the country raised $275,423 to support physical therapy research.

The Miami-Marquette Challenge is the Foundation’s signature annual fundraising effort, and 235 schools have participated in the Challenge since its inception in 1989, raising more than $3 million for physical therapy research.

Congratulations to the top performing schools of this year’s Miami-Marquette Challenge:

First Place: University of Pittsburgh
Second Place: Virginia Commonwealth University
Third Place: University of Miami

The Foundation would like to recognize the Marquette University students for their financial commitment to the Challenge in donating more than $20,000.

Award of ExcellenceSchools donating $10,000 or more
Mercer University
University of Colorado
University of Delaware

Award of MeritSchools donating $6,000 or more
New York University
The George Washington University
The Ohio State University
Washington University in St. Louis

Honorable MentionSchools donating $3,000 or more
Arcadia University, Boston University, Creighton University, Marymount University, Mayo School of Health Sciences, MCPHS University, MGH Institute of Health Professions, Northwestern University, Rosalind Franklin University of Medicine and Science, Simmons College, Somerset Community College, The University of Iowa, University of Illinois at Chicago, University of Maryland – Baltimore, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, Wingate University

Special Awards
Most Successful PT Newcomer: Mercer University
Most Successful PTA Newcomer: Lake Area Technical Institute
Biggest Stretch School: University of Delaware
Most Creative Fundraiser: University of Tennessee at Chattanooga
Most Successful PTA School: Somerset Community College

“The List” below recognizes additional PT and PTA programs that contributed to the 2014-2015 Miami-Marquette Challenge:

Andrews University, Angelo State University, A.T. Still University of Health Sciences, Bellarmine University, Blackhawk Technical College, California State University – Long Beach, Carroll University, Central Piedmont Community College, Clarke University, Clarkson College, Clarkson University, Cleveland State University, College of Staten Island – The Graduate Center (CUNY), Columbia University, Concordia University – Wisconsin, Delta College, DeSales University, Des Moines University, Dominican College of Blauvelt, Duke University, East Tennessee State University, Eastern Washington University, Elgin Community College, Elon University, Emory University, Finlandia University, Fox College, Franklin Pierce University, Genesee Community College, Georgia Regents University, Governors State University, Hawkeye Community College, Hazard Community & Technical College, Idaho State University, Indiana University, Ithaca College, Ivy Tech Community College – Sellersburg, Kapi’olani Community College, Keiser University Fort Lauderdale, Lake Area Technical Institute, Louisiana State University Health Sciences Center in New Orleans, Lynchburg College, Madisonville Community College, Marquette University, Marshall University, Maryville University, Mercy College, Midwestern University – Downers Grove, IL, Milwaukee Area Technical College, Missouri State University, Nazareth College, Northeastern University, Northern Arizona University, Northern Illinois University, Nova Southeastern University, Ohio University, Old Dominion University, Our Lady of the Lake College, Quinnipiac University, Regis University, Richard Stockton College of New Jersey, Rockhurst University, Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey (North), Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey (South), Saint Francis University, Saint Louis University, San Diego State University, Shenandoah University, Sinclair Community College, Slippery Rock University of Pennsylvania, Southeast Kentucky Community & Technical College, Southwest Baptist University, Southwestern Illinois College, Springfield College, St. Ambrose University, St. Catherine University, Temple University, Texas Woman’s University – Dallas, Texas Woman’s University – Houston, The College of St. Scholastica, The Pennsylvania State University – Shenango, The University of Alabama at Birmingham, The University of Montana, Thomas Jefferson University, University of California-San Francisco, University of Central Florida, University of Cincinnati, University of Dayton, University of Florida, University of Indianapolis, University of Kentucky, University of Michigan – Flint, University of Minnesota, University of Mississippi Medical Center, University of Missouri, University of Nebraska Medical Center, University of Nevada, Las Vegas, University of North Dakota, University of North Georgia, University of Oklahoma Health Sciences Center, University of Saint Francis, University of South Florida, University of Southern California, University of St. Augustine – Florida, University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center, University of the Incarnate Word, University of Utah, University of Wisconsin-La Crosse, University of Wisconsin-Madison, University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee, Utica College, Walsh University, West Kentucky Community and Technical College, West Virginia University, Western Carolina University, Western University of Health Sciences, Wheeling Jesuit University, Widener University, Youngstown State University

Funds raised through the Challenge contribute to the rigorous and high-quality peer-reviewed process, which results in the awarding of all Foundation scholarships and grants. Additionally, the Challenge supports an annual $40,000 research grant, and a promotion of doctoral studies (PODS I) scholarship of $7,500 to physical therapist researchers. Since 2002, the Challenge has specifically funded more than 20 research grants and scholarships, and also partially funded the $300,000 Clagett Family Research Grant in 2010.

The Foundation for Physical Therapy was established in 1979 as a national, independent nonprofit organization to fund physical therapy research to optimize health and movement. Since its inception, the Foundation has awarded more than $17 million in research grants, fellowships and scholarships. Many of today’s leading physical therapy researchers, clinicians, and academicians began their careers with this support. Foundation-funded researchers have gone on to secure more than $824 million in follow-on funding.

To donate or learn more, visit www.Foundation4pt.org or call 800/875-13678.




Subscribe to our mailing list

* indicates required

Use this form to sign up for the Foundation for Physical Therapy Research monthly newsletter and periodic funding deadline alerts.